Design & The Market

Assignments, Design & The Market

This semester, I am currently taking a module that improves and further develops my knowledge of the business in design. This modules aims to introduce me to the enterprise culture and terminology and how to place the practice of design in a business context. This module will also teach me to develop my entrepreneurial  skills, to enhance my employability and hopefully enhance my skills to set up my own business in the future! (which I know nothing about so this module will be very beneficial to me!).

This module will give me an appreciation of the complexity of enterprise planning, management and will further develop individual group skills in the design and development of new business opportunities and ventures! Also, I will hopefully understand the nature of entrepreneurial activity and practices, appreciate key understanding for designing in the market and for a business and the understanding for both the practical and organisational skills in order to start my own business. This to me sounds like quite a challenging module but I am always up for something challenging so that I can learn from it and become a better designer.

From my last previous lectures, I have learned about what the module will be about and how to prepare ourselves for interviews with entrepreneurs and business representatives. This is in preparation for our first assignment! In our first assignment, we have been split into groups according to discipline (Textiles students, animation student groups etc). For this assignment, we have to research and contact an entrepreneur or design company and then if possible, interview them. We are currently in the midst of arranging a time to interview our designer so until then, we are preparing our questions about the business, design and how they have found working in an industry/starting up one! That is only a couple of example questions but we are awaiting our reply to begin our research into interviewing. After the interview, we will then get our research and answers together and prepare them for presentation.

That was a brief overview of what’s to come from this module so I will post more updates each week about design & the market!

11111

steve-jobs-quote1

 

Leave a Reply

