Tactile Textiles: Collage and More

Sketchbook Work, Sketching/Drawing, Textiles

Hello!

So from my last project (and post some time ago!) I had based my theme around commuting and how I could change and make the commute a much more enjoyable experience for everyone. For this, I decided to focus on children and create a Textile/Surface design that they could interact/learn from and enjoy whilst on public transport. Therefore, making the daily commute much more enjoyable for all commuters.

Here is a link to a previous post with more information on the brief and a few photographs/drawings of sketchbook work.

Project Work So Far…

As I had never updated (due to being quite busy with the project! sorrrry) here are some photographs of my development, sketches and outcomes.

IMG_0822

IMG_0845

 

IMG_0944

 

IMG_0969

 

ps3

 

IMG_1023

IMG_0979

 

IMG_1017

 

IMG_1018

 

 

 

 

ps2

 

ps4

The photographs below are a few of my final outcomes and print designs for this project. Throughout this project, I experimented with a pigment known as “Puff Binder”. Puff Binder is a type of pigment used in Screen Printing. To create this effect, you apply your puff binder to your screen, pull through and then place your design underneath a hot air gun and then watch the magic happen! Once the hot air is applied, the design should “puff” up and create a three-dimensional effect. This technique fitted in extremely well with my theme as I wanted to create a design that you could interact with and actually touch instead of just observing. I think this sort of design would appeal more to children and this is why I chose to explore this technique for my project!

ps3

 

 

ps5

 

ps7

 

ps13

 

ps14

 

ps16

 

 

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

