Project so far…

Love, Photography

hey, not posted in a while so… my bad!

Over the summer, I had been set a project for University which was to draw a source or sources of my choosing so that it will allow me to find my “drawing style” and to develop drawing skills. I know my style already so as I love drawing, this project is great for me! I had struggled to actually start it though because I couldn’t decide what to draw or what theme I would like… A few weeks ago, I went to London with my family for a few days and it was there that I found my inspiration! London was great (apart from the weather!) a city that I love and a city that is full of art!….and SO many shops, I spent a good day shopping, it was awesome. Anyway, I decided to look at the urban landscape for my project but look at buildings from both London and Glasgow (home town).

I took a lot of photographs whilst I was in London so that I could have a lot of source to refer back to and of course to remind me of the wonderful holiday! I focused on a lot of the more modern buildings and the buildings that are pretty well-known for their unusual shape for example, The Gherkin Building and The Shard.

The Gherkin Building

 

 

The Shard

I have been doing a lot of line drawings at the moment, some being of a graphic style and very sketchy!

 

Fine Line drawing of The Shard. I was trying to show the shadows that I could see from all of the windows (and it’s practically all windows so it was a lot!) not entirely finished yet because I am unsure about it but I shall see…what do you think?

 

I have started look at a few buildings from my London Photographs so far…yet to start the Glasgow ones so i’ll need to get a move on me thinks! This is another building that I have been looking at:

 

I am not sure what this building is but it looks like a big modern office building! that looks pretty cool.

 

Watercolour with fine liner. Again, I was looking at the highlights and shadows that I saw in the windows and like the Shard….this building is covered in windows!

 

This buildings was outside the Tate Modern…which I love! I had been to the Tate before but had never notice this very vibrant building so it was a very nice surprise!

For my drawing, I stuck with the bright yellow as it was very unique to the building itself.

 

 

 

The style for these drawings are pretty bold and graphic, which is my style I guess! and I love it!

Well, I haven’t a lot of drawings at the moment, currently making a collage piece of the Gherkin Building and focusing on the shapes and windows. Will update you all soon of more drawings to come!

Bye for now!

 

 

Leave a Reply

