Balmain.Love!

Fashion, Material Matters

When I studied my Higher National Diploma (HND) in Fashion Textiles at college, my final project was to create a fashion garment for our college fashion show – aswell as a full portfolio! It was in my design process that I came across Balmain.

Pierre Balmain founded his house in 1945 and he was on of the designers that created the lavish couture collections after World War 2. Christian Dior and Cristobal Balenciaga were the other designers that created these fantastic couture collections.

When I was at college, I viewed his most recent collections and absolutely loved them! I found them really inspirational and they linked in very well with my final overall design. I incorporated his ideas and made them into my own. His collection’s are absolutely beautiful and I think they represent a modern rocker-girl look. Something I could see myself wearing and I think this is one of the many reasons why I fell in love with his collections.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This collection is the Balmain Resort 2012 Collection. I really like this collection because I think that there is a great combination of colour and the overall colour palette is quite elegant but still symbolise the rocker-girl style. His use of patterns in this collection, I think, are amazing and very beautiful! I really like the geometric prints he has used for some of his garments and I think that they have helped make the collection really eye-catching. These prints emphasis the rocker-girl look very well.

For my current project, I think that this collection works very well because of the geometrical prints and bold graphic garments (dresses/skirts). This collection has inspired me and I will definitely try to incorporate some of his styles in my own work.

For more on his collections, visit this site! Balmain

Leave a Reply

