In the Studio

Material Matters, Sketchbook Work

Today in the studio, I was trying to experiment a lot more and really try to get out of my comfort zone. My style of work is quite detailed, bold and graphic and I think this is because I have become very comfortable with media’s such as: Fine-Liners, Coloured Pens, Pencils, Sharpies, Paints and Ink’s. I feel as if I have more control over them as I really like to create exactly what I want in a drawing instead of making a mistake due to my media – such as, chalk smudging etc.

So here is a little peek of what I experimented with today! My inspiration for my drawings so far have come from crystals and rocks that I had bought from a shop in Glasgow called Opal Moon. Excellent little shop for my theme! Here is a few photographs of my objects and some paintings/drawings that have related!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That’s some parts of my sketchbook so far! If there is anything you think that I could add, feel free to let me know!

2 thoughts on “In the Studio

  1. It looks like it is all about putting out your intuition on paper. Whatever comes to mind to release that energy onto your canvas. Very creative works!

    1. Thank you! I will put that in mind next time I am in the studio and when drawing at home!. Still at the developing stage of my project so will be working to creating more and more interesting drawings/designs and I hope to use different technique’s as well to make it more exciting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

