Fashionable Paper Folding.

Change By Design, Material Matters

From my last post, I talked about the art of paper folding known as Origami so, for this post, I am going to show the unique style of Origami used in Issey Miyake’s Fall 2011 Ready-to-Wear collection. A pretty amazing collection!

Issey Miyake is a Japanese designer and is known for his technology-driven clothing designs. One of his signature styles is the use of pleats in his collections. He starting using pleats in a new way that would allow flexibility and movement within the garment. This style is known as Pleats Please. Check out the site for some fantastic pleated garments!

So, to relate to my last post, I will show you why this collection fits perfectly to the origami element in my development process!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The black and white garments are actually made from paper folded in a simple but beautiful way (the white sections). Very similar to origami and I think this collection fits in perfectly with my origami section in my development sketchbook. This is not the whole collect as only 5 garments are actually made from paper with the same five garments repeated in a fabric version. This is what I have showed to emphasise the origami similarity. This entire collection on the other hand, is very beautiful so please have a look and see what you think! Style.com/ISMIYAKE. While you are there, take a look at the new Spring RTW 2012 collection! It’s amazing!

I had never really looked at a lot of Issey Miyake’s work until now so I am very glad that I started to develop my project in a way that has introduced me to this designer. His recent collections are very inspiring and have encouraged me to experiment more with paper manipulations and incorporate origami models/sections.

What do you think of Issey Miyake and his recent collections? 🙂

Leave a Reply

